Heritage trees in Milton Ulladulla

The heritage fig in Milton is a well-known landmark and much loved by locals and visitors and the historic elm outside the Anglican church is also an important part of Milton’s history.

Chinese elm (Ulmus parvifolia)

In the grounds of St Peter and St Paul’s Anglican Church, Princes Highway, Milton.

Planted by Miss Alice Kendall in 1920, daughter of John & Catherine Kendall, who was a missionary at Foochow, China (1908-1942) with the Church Missionary Society. When she was on leave home in Milton in 1920, she planted the seed of the Chinese elm in the church grounds.




Fig in Mick Ryan Park, Milton


Small-leafed Fig (Ficus obliqua)

Mick Ryan Park, Princes Highway Milton.

Believed to be around 190 years old, the fig tree is approximately 10 metres tall and has a massive spread of 38 metres. The tree is in very good health and is listed on the National Register of Big Trees. It is a favourite play area for children with many climbable branches to ground level and hide-and-seek spots around its huge, buttressed trunk.

Mick Ryan Park was created by Shoalhaven Council in 1968 for the purpose of saving the fig in case there was redevelopment of the land. The 2000m² parcel of land was bought from dairy farmer Mick Ryan, and the park named in his honour.

The date of the fig’s planting is not known but, according to information given by Mr Archie Blanch (Mick Ryan’s brother-in-law) at the time of the land purchase in 1968 to Shoalhaven City Council’s Southern District Engineer R. Larking (pers comms, 1986), from 1828-1830 it was common for horsemen to ride from Nerriga to Milton via Porters Creek and Egans Gap. One of those riders is said to have planted the fig. At the time, the land was owned by Whatman, then sold to Bartlett, then McDonald and, lastly, Ryan.


Camphor laurels (Cinnamomum camphora)

Avenue of Honour, Princes Highway, Milton

Planted as part of a much longer avenue to commemorate men and women from Milton-Ulladulla who served during World War 1, only three trees now remain along the Princes Highway (west side, north end of Milton, outside Mick Ryan Park).


Camphor laurels in Avenue of Honour, Princes Highway Milton



Have you found Millards Creek Weir, Ulladulla?
Horses benefit from Bills' generosity

Tags: , , ,

Latest Articles

  • MUHS bus trip to historic Braidwood, NSW

    Come with MUHS on our bus trip to the beautiful historic town of Braidwood, on Sunday 10 March 2019. It’s only a 1.5 hour drive by comfortable bus from Milton-Ulladulla to see one of NSW’s most picturesque historic towns, where many of the old town buildings have been preserved and restored.

  • Milton Ulladulla in 1883

    On 20 January 1883, the popular broadsheet publication ‘Australian Town and Country Journal’ published a unique insight into the district of Milton-Ulladulla. Called ‘Southern Pencillings’ and attributed to ‘The Raven’, it included several line drawings featuring Pigeon House mountain, Lake Conjola, Airlie House and Ulladulla Harbour.

  • Ulladulla’s famous Funland, and Rowen’s Arcade

    In the late 1940s and early 1950s, with my wife Doreen, we would spend many weekends in the Milton-Ulladulla area, spear fishing and water skiing. When King’s Point was subdivided, we had the first house built there by Millard and Ingold builders, as a weekender.

  • Farewell Joanne Ewin

    The Milton Ulladulla Historical Society (MUHS) recently lost one of its highly-valued Life Members with the passing of Joanne Ewin on 24 January 2018, a well-known and respected member of the Milton-Ulladulla community and a past secretary of MUHS.

  • Have you found Millards Creek Weir, Ulladulla?

    Have you seen a piece of Ulladulla’s history, existing since 1861, near a busy road, but only noticed by a few pedestrians? It is the weir over Millards Creek, 20 metres off St Vincent Street, looking west.